poetry, William Blake

More words from the Poetic Genius, William Blake

Verses taken from Blake’s letter to Thomas Butts, August 16th, 1803, after being charged with Sedition.

“O why was I born with a different face?
Why was I not born like the rest of my race?
When I look, each one starts; when I speak, I offend;
Then I’m silent and passive, and lose every friend.
Then my verse I dishonour, my pictures despise,
My person degrade, and my temper chastise;
And the pen is my terror, the pencil my shame;
All my talents I bury, and dead is my fame.
I am either too low or too highly priz’d;
When elate I’m envy’d, when meek I’m despised. “

Standard

Leave a Reply

